Apple Charter Academy

Governance » Board of Directors

Board of Directors

Apple is all about just this: preparing the next generation of global community leaders. I am chairing the board because I know our young people have the capacity to make a world of love, economic vibrancy, and justice. We have assembled a talented team whose members embrace this vision and have the capacity to make it real. 
- Chairman Cunningham
David Cunningham, Jr.
President and Chairman of the Board
Mr. Cunningham is a business executive who was elected to the Los Angeles City Council in 1973 and represented the 10th district until 1986. He now owns Dave Cunningham and Associates, a governmental and public affairs firm is president of the Board of Directors of the UC Riverside Alumni Association and a member of the Los Angeles Convention Center Authority. His family has served Los Angeles for two generations, working with diligence and love to make this great city a place where every individual can pursue his or her dreams free from prejudice and supported by responsible government, economic and community institutions. Email contact:

Caprice Young
Board Secretary and Treasurer 
A nationally respected education innovator, Dr. Young recently launched Education Growth Group, a consulting firm focused on various aspects of the educational spectrum. Formerly, she was the Vice President for Education for the John and Laura Arnold Foundation. Previous to this, she was CEO and President of EnCorps, Inc., a not-for profit organization providing talented Math, Science, Technology and Engineering teachers to inner city secondary schools by recruiting and developing mid and senior career professional from industries and professions in these fields. She was the founding CEO/President of the California Charter Schools Association and served on the LAUSD board from 1999 through 2003, including two years as president. She is known for working skillfully across major sectors, having held top leadership positions in technology, education, government and business. 

Bruce Corwin, Board Member 
Mr. Corwin is Chairman and CEO of Metropolitan Theatres Corporation and has been deeply involved in civic leadership for decades. Past and present honors include: membership on Mayor Tom Bradley’s Blue Ribbon Committee of 40, presidency of the Coro Foundation National Board of Governors, and a trustee of the California Community Foundation and the recipient of the prestigious Pioneer of the Year Award. 

Jan Mazyck, Board Member
Ms. Mazyck is a senior finance executive with diverse private and public sector experiences. As the principal with Mazyck Advisors, she provides consulting services to clients, such as, ICEF, the City of Atlanta and the City of La Habra. Ms. Mazyck also assumed leadership of the financial advisory team to the Los Angeles County Metropolitan Transportation Authority (LA Metro) executing financings for several rail projects.

Perry Parks, Board Member

Harold Anderson, Board Member